*Service Awards
*Glenn Purdy Meritorious Service Award
*OVR Award Of Excellence
*OVR Commissioner's Award

2018 OVR Service Award Nominations Being Accepted

The Board of Directors of the Ohio Valley Region has established three awards that are presented annually to individuals who exemplify dedication and support of the growth of volleyball in the Ohio Valley Region.

In 2001, the Glenn Purdy Meritorious Service Award for Referees and Scorekeepers was established and given to its namesake, Glenn Purdy, in recognition of his 50 years of service to the sport of volleyball and officiating.

In 2002, the process was expanded to include two additional awards, the OVR Award Of Excellence For OVR Coaches, Club Directors, and Tournament Directors, and the OVR Commissioner's Award For OVR Players, Referees, Scorekeepers, and Administrators.

USA Volleyball also offers up to five Robert L. Lindsay Meritorious Service Awards to each Region each year.

The 2017 OVR Meritorious Award recipients are:

  • Vanessa Garrett
  • Katherine Hensley
  • Richard Jackson
  • Stephanie Kubec
  • Aireka Wright

  • The Commissioners Award was presented to Stephen Yates.

    USAV Award of Excellence for a Club Director was presented to Stephen Yates.

    USAV Award of Excellence for a Tournament Director was presented to Brian Hoffman.

    USAV YJOVD Service Award for Outstanding Program Director was presented to Heather Piccone.

    The Glenn Purdy Award was presented to Brian Hemelgarn for his years of officiating service in the OVR, USA Volleyball and international.

    The criteria for each award are listed, and nominations for these awards are being sought. The nomination process is open, and nominations will be accepted until April 15, 2018. The awards will be presented at the June Meeting of the Ohio Valley Region Board. To nominate an individual or individuals, please use this nomination form.

    Steve Donahue (chair), Patty Salvatore and Ron Wyzynski serve on the OVR awards committee.


    Web Design + Development