Ohio Valley Region: Advancing Volleyball in Ohio, western Pennsylvania, and West Virginia

OVR Archives: 2019-2020 Season
OVR-Kaepa® USA Juniors' Tournament Schedule 2020
Sunday, March 8, 2020
Otterbein College: Rike Center, Westerville, OH

Tournament/Site Director

Jeri Helfer

[OVR officials, club directors, assistant directors, coaches, and staff: log in for complete contact information.]

Entry Fee




Otterbein College: Rike Center
Center St.
Westerville, OH 43081

Web page: www.otterbein.edu

Marathon Oil CorporationMarathon Route Planner
Starting address: 


Tournament Information

We are excited to host you at our New Wave tournament!

Team rosters will be downloaded from the OVR website the Wednesday of the tournament. Please make sure your coach is IMPACT certified. Doors open at 7:30am.  There will be a coaches' meeting at 8:00 AM. Warm-ups are at 8:15 am. The tournament pool play starts at 8:30 AM sharp. Tournament entry fee is due January 15, 2020. Please include the 11-character team code with your entry fee.

Make Checks Payable to: New Wave Volleyball, LLC

Mail Checks to: New Wave Volleyball, LLC

                       462 Meadowbrook Dr        

                       Newark OH 43055

Pool Format:

Pool pay is the best of three sets with rally scoring. Each non-deciding set will be to 25 points with a minimum two-point advantage(no scoring cap). The deciding set, if needed will be to 15 points with a minimum two point advantage(no scoring cap). All warm-ups will use the 2-4-4 format; 2-minutes shared court, 4-minutes Serving Team, 4-minutes Serve Receiving team. Teams may request the referee to tell them when to serve, usually one minute. Medals will be awarded for each division first place and second place teams.

Match Order: [Team in ( ) refs]

Match 1   1 vs 3 (2)

Match 2   2 vs 4 (1)

Match 3   1 vs 4 (3)

Match 4   2 vs 3 (1)

Match 5   3 vs 4 (2)

Match 6   1 vs 2 (4)

Teams will officiate according to the above schedule for pool play.

Tournament Format:

Teams 1-8 (pool play winners and 2nd place teams) go into the Gold playoffs. Teams 9-12 (third place in pool) go into the Silver bracket. Teams 13-16 will go into the Bronze. The lowest seeded team in each division not playing the first round of the playoffs will officiate the first playoff match. Tournament will be the best of three sets. After the first round of the playoffs, all losing teams, before leaving, must stay and officiate the next match.

Keep all coolers in cars. Coolers are prohibited in and outside facilities hosting OVR-sanctioned events. Setting up tables and/or cooking by teams or their support staff, fans, coaches, or parents are prohibited at OVR-sanctioned events. A full concession stand with reasonable prices will be provided at the tournament site.


If Franklin County is under a level 3 Snow Emergency, the tournament will be cancelled and all entry fees will be refunded.  Information will be posted on our website and coaches will receive an e-mail at the time of cancellation. If you have any questions please call me at 740-404-5446 or e-mail jerihelfer@gmail.com.


Note: OVR rankings appearing in the following listings are intended only as a helpful tool for tournament directors. They are subject to frequent change, including after the pools are set, and other factors may also be considered when determining pools and order of play.

Girls' 18 Regional: 4 courts (openings for 1 team)

No points shall be awarded for OVR Championships or tournaments following the OVR Championships. [OVR Juniors' Seeding System]

 Pool 1
 team coderankteam
1.FJ8-SWVBC2-OV10Southwest VBC – 18R SMITH
2.FJ7-ESVC11-OV30 [17A]Eastside Volleyball – 17 Ferrone
3.FJ7-NEWAV4-OV36 [17R]New Wave VBC – 17-Beardsley
4.FJ8-GRLVC1-OV53Grandlake VBC – 18R Hardesty
 Pool 2
 team coderankteam
1.FJ8-KIDVC1-OV18Kidron Volleyball Club – Crawford-18R
2.FJ7-NEWAV2-OV20 [17A]New Wave VBC – 17-Fehrman
3.FJ8-CXTRM1-OV51Club Extreme – Sapphire 18R
4.FJ7-HAWKV2-OV45 [17A]Hawks VBC – 17A M Haas
 Pool 3
 team coderankteam
1.FJ7-HAWKV1-OV7 [17A]Hawks VBC – 17A Haas
2.FJ8-BKEYE1-OV32Buckeye VBC – Buckeye 18 Red Elite
3.FJ7-GRLVC4-OV59 [17R]Grandlake VBC – 17R Hardesty
4.FJ7-NEWAV3-OV88 [17R]New Wave VBC – 17-McLoughlin
 Pool 4
 team coderankteam
1.FJ8-NEWAV1-OV22New Wave VBC – 18-Miller
2.FJ7-BKEYE1-OV19 [17A]Buckeye VBC – Buckeye 17A Red
3.FJ8-LONEL1-OV49London Elite – 18 Blue

Officials [Hired officials: sign in for more information]

The officials' assigner for this event is Jeri Helfer (jerihelfer@gmail.com, 740‑404‑5446 /m).

1 officials are still required for this event.

  1. (hired) : Head Official
  2. (hired)
  3. (hired)
  4. (hired)
  5. (hired)
Follow us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter